Retirement

Yep, it’s been almost four months since I’ve been back to work and I’m writing about retirement. I had to sign up for my company’s 401k, rollover my last one and explain the bruises on my body. About a week ago my wife said, “Oh my G*d, what happened to your arm?”. I of course I had no idea what she was talking about. But, she pointed out a deep, dark bruise and then another one. I said, “Oh, looks like a five year old’s elbow to me” and smiled.

Tonight my mother came over for dinner and the kids were rambuncious (please don’t check my spelling on that one). After dinner my wife, mother and Thomas and Anna played Yahtzee Jr, Toy Story Edition. After several rounds the game was over and the winner, Anna, reminded what the winner gets to do. Yep, the winner, or the person that comes in second, third, or dead last gets to climb on daddy. It’s been a long-time favorite of the kids to climb on me, or try to wrestle me or squish me in some way. Tonight was no exception, and I have the bruises to show several nights of win or lose “climb on daddy”.

With both kids perched on my shoulders, elbows either in my neck, my arms, my legs or places we don’t talk about, I started to stand up. To the shock of my wife and mother, with Anna hanging upside down and Thomas screaming bloody murder in what is probably now my most deaf ear I started standing and trying to walk around the room. My wife warned I’d probably be dropping one, my mother said in a stern tone, “Don’t do that, you may not feel it now, but you’ll regret it when you’re sixty”. So, with legs shaking I made it back to the couch where I dropped each one safely, with them screaming, AGAIN, can we do it again!?

So, now four months after starting work I’m thinking about what my mother said tonight, thinking about when I’m sixty (I know, too young to really retire) and what I’ll be regretting and what I won’t. I’m thinking I may be considerably more sore than I am now, maybe I won’t be able to pick up a five pound bag of flour. But I know one thing I’ll always remember, something I’ll never regret, with each muscle spasm, new joint pain, or every time I find a bruise on one of my arms, in the middle of my back, or anywhere else. I’m going to remember going back to work and losing those times with the kids I still miss so much, and all the games where whether they won or they lost, I won, and I have the bumps and bruises to prove it.

2 Responses to “Retirement”

  1. Susan Says:

    They love their father. Deeply. Just like their mother does.

  2. happiestmommies Says:

    Good to see you on here again. You never disappoint with your words.

Leave a Reply

