Alone on my birthday

My wife decided to give me the best gift of all, for a SAHD, several days alone.  That meant I was spending my birthday alone.  I’m not really sure what to make of it.  I got a few days without anyone around.  I went camping and spent those days, several, saying hi to about two people.  Whew, that was different.  Different, but not necessarily good.  I missed my wife and kids like you wouldn’t believe.  I looked at some pictures that were on the camera of my daughter and son and missed ’em dearly.  I thought about stuff that was funny, funny to me and the only person that understands me, my wife.

I had a good birthday, alone.  It was both a happy and sahd way to spend a birthday.  I got a chance to do whatever I wanted, whenever I wanted, but I sure missed “daddy, daddy, daddy” and I sure missed walking into my room and seeing all the pillows on the floor and a kid in mid-flight jumping as high as they could off my bed giving me a look of “oh no, when did he walk in???”

Well, it’s been a few days and the family will be home in a few more.  I guess I better go savour the sleeping in, although I still wake up at  6:00AM wondering where everyone is…and I still have to put on Playhouse Disney just so things seem normal.

One Response to “Alone on my birthday”

  1. Susan Says:

    We sure missed you too. Where was the man who says the inappropriate things and the inappropriate time? I love that guy!

Leave a Reply

