Why am I the only one tired at nap time?

My son doesn’t take naps anymore, at least not often.  I didn’t take naps much when I was young either, and almost never now; however, if I could I would.  It seems now when it is nap time, I’m the only one tired.

Today, and almost everyday, driving home in the afternoon, my littlest one will fall asleep.  She’ll be so asleep you can hardly wake her, except when she’s laying down.  I can pick her up, quietly, from her car seat, carry her into the house, remove her shoes and she doesn’t stir.  I’ll gently lay her on the bed and as soon as she goes to a horizontal position her eyes open and she seems to realize she’s being put down for a nap.  She immediately will say, “I’m not tired.  I don’t want to take a nap.”  I usually whisper something like, “don’t worry, it’s not a nap, you’ll just rest for a few minutes”, but by the time the last word escapes my lips she’s on the floor running into the other room.

Today, I’m tired.  I don’t know why but I’m waking up every morning an hour before I need to be up.  Today, I want a nap.  So, what do I do?  I’ve tried to convince the kids to lay down, watch a movie, or a cartoon, or just rest.  Nothing is working.  I just tried again, and the response, “Daddy, what do bunnies eat?”  What does that have to do with taking a nap I’m thinking.  Why would Anna ask me a question like that after being asked if she wants to lay down?  I know exactly what it has to do with taking a nap, absolutely nothing, because again, I’m the only one tired at nap time.

2 Responses to “Why am I the only one tired at nap time?”

  1. Susan Says:

    I have to say that I totally love this blog! It’s great to see the workings of the day. Right now, you are still working hard giving the kids a shower. I have to say that this will definitely be remembered on the blog and at your performance review. 🙂

  2. Tara Bender Says:

    Aaron – this is my favorite entry posted to date – probably because I can relate! I gave up with Benny and told him that if he wanted to give up his naps, then he had to agree to an earlier bedtime (which is now 7:00 p.m.) and he happily complied (but I still miss those daily naps!)

Leave a Reply

